“ALL ANIMALS ARE EQUAL,

BUT SOME ANIMALS ARE MORE EQUAL THAN OTHERS.”

 

It feels quite weird to be on the privileged side. Being able to make money officially and with your brain instead of your muscles, is also a rare privilege, which many of my compatriots never experienced. More than half of my family has been an immigrant, for different amount of time and job field, but surprisingly, the 22 years old me is the first one privileged enough to make a decent pay (it’s so decent, that it’s almost indecent) that is produced with my brains only and not physical force (I should apply for the gym permit, I know).

 

In a world where we so often talk about the discrimination based on race, gender and sexual orientation, it seems wild to accept that there’s still lot of discrimination based on such a simple factor as origin. Most of the people I meet on a day-to-day basis are surprised that I’m having a nice English (well, who counts the other 5 languages I speak?) because you know, the fact you’re not a native makes you automatically have a horrible accent and a vocabulary of 200 words long. Despite my qualifications, for 6 months I was on a job hunt, for jobs both corresponding to my skills and jobs were I’d be considered overqualified, I’ve been invited only to 3 interviews in these while, 2 of them were from the same company (where right now I’m officially hired), the other one was from a beauty shop, I failed to be a retailer, apparently it’s not my thing))

The first thing everyone said (on the interviews) was a remark about how good my English was. Is it something else than discrimination? If you are a foreigner, are you automatically supposed to not speak the language? I have expat friends, whose English will sound as natural as the locals’ one, but nah, they’re foreigners, they’ll have a problem looking for jobs, simply because their name is so weird that they probably don’t know a word in English, and then, even their local job experience might not matter.

 

Whatever, keep a picture of a beautiful place, and let’s finish this post on a positive note.

 

1

